When life hands you lemons…

make Lemon Sour Cream Cake.

(source)

If you follow me on Twitter, you probably noticed I was recently laid off. My school district laid off 238 certificated staff (including teachers, librarians and counselors) on Tuesday. That’s a whole lotta lemons life handed out.

At the school board meeting on April 27, it was decided that the district would increase class size by 3 students, and an estimated 90-150 teachers would be cut. I pretty much knew this was coming. Therefore I signed up to run a half-marathon on July 10th, figuring I would throw myself into something healthy, (training), rather than stuffing my face, (my normal stress coping mechanism).

However, after I received official notice that I had been pink slipped, I reverted back to good ‘ol comfort foods. I’m giving myself a week to cope this way, and then I will pick myself up, dust myself off, and resume half-marathon training with full gusto.

But until then, I’ll bake.

Friday evening I had a postponed Cinco de Mayo celebration,


a Steve-o de Mayo party if you will, to celebrate one of my Master’s cohorts arrival in Spokane. I signed up to bring sour cream and cheese, only to find out those items were already taken. I was kindly asked to bring some sort of dessert.

Dessert I can do.

But I wanted to use the sour cream I had already purchased, and didn’t have a clue what to make. I googled sour cream cookies, sour cream cake and sour cream dessert. I settled on this Lemon Sour Cream Cake recipe, simply because it seemed the most tedious. I really needed something other than my current situation to occupy myself with, and beating butter for 1 minute solid, and then adding sugar tablespoon by tablespoon for 8 minutes seemed like the perfect solution.

And it was. I followed the directions to a T, which is something I never do. The only modification I made was I did not use lemon peel, and instead doubled up on the lemon juice.

Holy tedious.

Look at how moist it is!

Holy delicious.

This recipe is definitely one I will be pulling out again and again in the future. It reminds me of fantastically-fab wedding cake. It is insanely dense. I think it weighed around 10 pounds. I’m totally serious. I got quite the bicep workout carrying it from my friend’s car to the party.

There are only two slices left. And I am very excited to eat them for dessert tonight.

And yes, that is a Ronald McDonald plate. It is pretty much my favorite plate ever. And I hate McDonalds.

Next on my pink slip cooking agenda: Pink Slip Pie.

What is your favorite sour cream recipe?

16 thoughts on “When life hands you lemons…

  1. That cake is gorgeous! I just love lemon desserts even though chocolate is my go to flavor.
    I am sorry about your job. You strike me as someone very talented so I am sure the next opportunity is around the corner! Best of luck in your search!

  2. I am impressed by that cake! And when you described it as wedding cake in flavor I got REALLY excited. πŸ™‚

    OOooooh pink slip pie! Hooray! Be careful you don’t over-tart it when you add the lemonade…not everyone is as into tart-ness as I am. πŸ™‚ [The crust breaks it up though.]

  3. Oh boy. I saw the layoffs on the news. I’m sorry you were part of that. As a parent this just bums me out. :{
    On the other hand, that cake is making my mouth water.
    I love that you are taking a week to eat and then have a good productive training plan in the works.
    And OMG!!!!! I had that plate growing up!! We always took it camping and my brother and I always tried to get it for ourselves!!! πŸ˜‰

    • OMG that is hilarious! I love that plate and wish I had more.
      And thanks. I wish the State Legislature would hurry up and determine their budget, so my district can figure out ours. We are all stuck in limbo until that happens. Sigh. But I am planning for teaching summer school, so that helps keep my mind focused πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: Oh, hey, here I am. | Spinach and Skittles

  5. Pingback: Bittersweet Bug Juice | Spinach and Skittles

  6. Pingback: What is black, white and red [quinoa] all over? WIAW! « Spinach and Skittles

  7. Pingback: Meet the Teacher Monday |

  8. Pingback: Goodbye twenty-eleven |

Leave a Reply

