Weigh in Wednesday 12: How you doin’

(source)

Why, thanks for asking, Joey. Unfortunately, I’m not doing so well.

Although we’ve had record breaking precipitation* this week, there is still something in the air that is nagging at me. My eyes are itchy and red, to the point where a student noticed…from about 10 feet away…while I had my glasses on.

*watch the video…oh no, puddles!

I look something like this.

(source)

And I feel something like this.

(source)

But I’m not one to complain*.Β  I’ve been trying to dive into my workouts (and last remaining runs before my 12K this weekend – eek!), with full gusto. But my body, well, it just isn’t getting along with my brain at the moment.

*total lie. But I always have a solution when I complain. I’m nice like that.

My training plan included a 5 mile run this morning. At mile 2 I knew that was not going to happen. While I always hate running on a treadmill, at least the built in television will help me along. But today the ONLY thing news stations deemed worthy of coverage was the fact that Obama finally produced a copy of his long form birth certificate.

Really? Seriously?

I decided to cut my run short, (for more reason than the obnoxious “breaking news” coverage), and just do a 5K. Sadly, I totally missed the cut off for the Jelly Bean 5K, but a 5K just didn’t fit into my training plan* last week.

(source)
*by plan I mean: something I totally made up on my own based on my lame self not getting into the correct mindset earlier in the year.

I have one more run planned before race day, (Sunday), and I am determined not to let my allergies get me down! I’ve been tracking my mileage and I’ve noticed a few things:

  • I am getting faster. I’m running, on average, 12 minute miles. When I started I was running, on average, 12:30 miles. This is still slow, mind you, but faster for me.
  • My endurance is up quite a bit! My walking breaks used to be a lot longer (2-4 minutes) and would happen with much greater frequency (every 3-5 minutes). Now I am running, on average, about 8 minutes before I take a break, and I am walking 1-2 minutes.
  • I am enjoying myself more. When I did my long run on Saturday I actually got sad when I turned the corner on the street that is at the crest of my loop. I wanted my run to continue. Me! The girl who never thought* she could be a runner.
*Seriously. When we had to run the mile in elementary school we would hoof it down the street to Wa-Hi (the high school) and run our laps around their track. Once we passed the starting point we would have to hold up a finger (1-4), signifying how many laps we had completed. I would generally run 2, hold up a 3, and only finish my 3rd lap because everyone else had already finished!

Seeing these accomplishments in bulleted format renew my faith in myself that I can be a runner. I think after Bloomsday (12K) this weekend I will feel like I can actually call myself a runner. Right now I am considering myself a pseudo-runner. Or an almost-runner.

What exercise goals did you/do you plan to accomplish this week?

3 thoughts on “Weigh in Wednesday 12: How you doin’

  1. Congrats on possibly being a runner! I wish my knees could take it. I had a wonderful dream that I would stick it to Lupus by running a marathon- then my Lupus doc told me that he would kill me if I used my cartilage-barren knees to run a marathon instead of preserving them for getting on the ground to play with my kiddos. πŸ™‚ So now I’m working on liking road biking and I hike pretty trails with Spartacus. Watch out lupus, I’m going to stick it to you by taking pictures of wildflowers!
    I love your new Weigh-in Wednesdays, btw. πŸ˜€

  2. Haha you are hilairious! I also didn’t know you live in Spokane, you aren’t toooo far from me!
    Too nauseous to work out, so my “exercise goals” this week are to finish packing my house for the move on Sunday! It’s tough work!

Leave a Reply

