Pumpkin Scruffins

I love scones. Especially freshly baked ones. This weekend I whipped up a batch of cranberry yogurt scones for my co-worker, who just got back from maternity leave.

I was craving some for myself, but since I had already made these last week, I started searching for a suitable replacement. I eyed my Costco-size can of Libby’s pumpkin, and determined it needed to be incorporated. Unfortunately, none of the pumpkin scone recipes were striking my fancy. Fortunately, I really enjoy playing with recipes and making them my own.

What resulted from my adaptions wasn’t quite a scone, and wasn’t quite a muffin. Therefore I dub these: Pumpkin Scruffins. They are scrump-diddily-umptious! Even my pumpkin-hatin’ hubs loved them. And I may, or may not, have eaten two of these on Easter.

Pumpkin Scruffins

Adapted from this recipe
Serves: 8
Nutritionals: Cal: 231, Carb: 34g, Fat: 9g, Pro: 4g, Fiber: 2g, Sugar: 14g

Ingredients

3/4 cup whole wheat flour

3/4 cup unbleached all-purpose flour

1/4 cup white granulated cane sugar

6 TBS cold butter

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1 tsp pumpkin pie spice

1 tsp vanilla bean paste (can sub 1 tsp vanilla or the insides of one vanilla bean)

6 oz Stoneyfield Organics 0% French Vanilla yogurt

1/3 cup raisins

1/2 cup canned pumpkin

Directions

Preheat oven to 425.

Sift together: whole wheat flour, white flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt & pumpkin pie spice.

Add cold butter and mix until incorporated, (do not be afraid to use your hands).

Add vanilla bean paste, yogurt, raisins and canned pumpkin.

Form into a ball and flatten on a greased cookie sheet, roughly 1/2 inch thick.

Bake for 20-25 minutes.

Cut with a knife (or a pizza cutter – this worked great!) and transfer to cooling rack.

Who says pumpkin is just for fall? Pumpkin is my favorite flavor year round! Enjoy 🙂

8 thoughts on “Pumpkin Scruffins

  1. Pingback: I’m a runner! [Bloomsday 2011 recap] | Spinach and Skittles

Leave a comment