If at first you don’t succeed …

Sometimes I feel the weight of the world on my shoulders and life seems completely overwhelming. Between work licensing requirements, family obligations, house projects and everything else that comes at me, it is hard to keep my head above water sometimes. And I am your stereotypical “yes” woman, ya know the type that says yes to everything? Yep, that would be me.

However, you never know what you are capable of if you don’t try. A few days ago I was reading about a gal who ran the Boston Marathon this week, pumped [breast milk] midway through and won a marathon while she was pregnant. Say waaa? I complain and talk myself out of running because I enjoy sleeping more than getting out of my warm bed. I don’t even have the obligations tied to having children as an excuse. Reading about her accomplishments, I felt rather lazy.

But, I’m working on it. I may be slow as molasses, but I’m still running.

Today  had the pleasure of listening to Logan and Laurie Olson, publishers of Logan Magazine (a publication for young people with disabilities). At age 16 Logan had a heart attack, went into a coma, and awoke with a brain injury. Many people would have given up on their hopes and dreams, but not Logan. Instead she kept making her dreams known to anyone who would listen. Through the help of many local educators, businesses, family and friends Logan’s dream to publish a positive and fun fashion and lifestyle magazine became a reality.

(source)

Logan and Laurie talked with our special education students about not letting obstacles get in your way. If you want to do something, make it happen! It took Logan 2 1/2 years to find the right path into publishing, and she never gave up. She wanted to make fashion accessible to those who may not be as able as the mass market, (example: she added a pencil gripper to her eyeliner pencil in order to apply her eyeliner easier – genius!). Her magazine is based here in Spokane, but after 4 1/2 years of publishing it now has subscribers all over the country.

How cool is she?

I had such an enjoyable afternoon listening to Logan’s story. The students were mesmerized and I will admit to getting slightly choked up at all of her accomplishments, (she is younger than I am!). One message she gave to the students really stuck with me:

The goal isn’t winning. The goal is trying.

So I may not be the fastest runner, but by golly, I am trying and I’m not going to let my biggest obstacle, (myself), stand in my way any longer!

How do you get over the mental hump and push forward to achieve your goals?

2 thoughts on “If at first you don’t succeed …

  1. Hi! Thanks for the comment on my blog. How fun to “meet” another Spokane blogger!! As for kale chips, I’m intrigued enough to try them, but sadly not to make them. I need someone to make them for me or find a restaurant that serves them! Good luck at Bloomsday; I am also hoping for good weather!! I hate running in temps below 50 and below 40 is terrible! Bring on 60+!!

Leave a Reply

