New and Improved! Weigh in Wednesday

Wow, haven’t had one of these in a while!

If you’re new to the blog (hi!) you may have noticed a Weigh-in Wednesday tab at the top. You may have also noticed that it promptly stops on Week 10, when I discussed the scale, the thin ideal and why I was giving up weighing myself for one month. Turns out I enjoyed NOT weighing so much (after a few anxiety striken days, mind you) that it has now been 8 weeks. Last week I discussed how much better I feel now that I am not weighing myself daily on my Running Foodie guest post. I can’t say that I wont ever go back to weighing myself (never say never), but for right now it is working out quite well.

So my new and improved! weigh in Wednesday will be centered around other means of determining my weight loss, mainly inches lost (which I don’t obsess over, like I did the number on the scale), exercise goals and accomplishments, and most importantly, how I feel!

Up first, my measurements. I am pleased to say my waist is 1.5 inches smaller than it was in January (this is the only area I’ve ever consistently measured). My exercise goal is to finish Bloomsday (a 12K in 11 days) without dying.

And today, I feel awesome. Last night I discovered the wonder that is the Epsom salt. I knew they were for soaking, but I didn’t know the difference between Epsom salts and bath salts. I figured they were one in the same. So I never explored them. But yesterday I was so incredibly sore and stiff that I decided to stop at Walgreen’s on my way home to pick up a bag. I took a nice 20 minute soak, read my book and went to bed at 9 pm (glorious!). I didn’t feel any different last night, but when I woke up this morning. Ohmigawd! I had absolutely no stiffness! My 5 mile run this morning was a breeze. I know, I know, I was totally living under a rock. But now I am a believer. Epsom salts rock my socks.

After my 5 mile run I inhaled another eggcellant breakwich.

And then I ran into my PA (Principal’s Assistant) and double high-fived her – she ran the Boston Marathon on Monday! Woot Woot! I was annoying the crap out of asking her lots of running questions and learned I should also take magnesium pills at night to ease my soreness/stiff muscles.

My lunch was composed of fabulous leftover potato pizza and a colorful salad.

Later on I snacked on an apple and a pineapple chobani (the BEST flavor).

Oh, and I also had a Fresca. I haven’t had soda in quite a while, but I saw my co-worker drinking one and immediately HAD to have one. It was fabulous.

After a quick trip to Costco, (yes, twice in one week), to pick up more Epsom salt, spinach, (no skittles), and lettuce I assembled leftover meal #2 for the day.

Butter-not squash enchiladas + salad

I can hear the Epsom salts calling my name. I am looking forward to a nice hot Epsom salt bath this evening. I’m sure you probably aren’t supposed to take an Epsom salt bath two days in a row, but I felt so amazing that I decided I would do one on evenings I run. While running is the form of exercise I feel most amazing and fit after, it is also the one that causes the most stress on my body.

What is your favorite form of exercise?

4 thoughts on “New and Improved! Weigh in Wednesday

  1. mmm You know I would say I love strength training and running best. Sometimes I like running more and sometimes I like strength training more!

    congrats on your progress, it shows all of your hard work 🙂
    also I love the egg dishes and butternut squash enchiladas – YUM! 🙂

  2. epsom salts are the greatest, EVER. I think I go through bags every month. Such a blessing. I’m not sure I have a favorite form of exercise. Whatever it is, I just like to sweat a TON. I love that feeling. So it could be running, cycling, hiking, swimming, ya know?

Leave a Reply

