I’ve got spirit

yes I do

I’ve got spirit

how ’bout you!?!

Today I relieved my high school cheerleading career* and cheered on the students in the staff vs. student basketball game.

Complete with a real middle school cheerleading uniform, say waaaaaa!?! (note the obnoxiously large sequined bow. also note the pasty skin in desperate need of some sun).

Yes, I really am that awesome. I did, however, come to the painful realization that I am no longer as limber as I was at 17, and kicks and jumps were not as high as they once were. I am also in need of an ice pack.

Yes, you want me cheering for your team. Look at my energy! (don’t worry, all individuals pictured are staff, not students)

*my career lasted one year, but it was tons of fun.

At one point there was even a flash mob. All week the staff tirelessly trained to pull together this fun surprise for the students. It was a blast.

While I did rock the middle school cheerleading uniform. I didn’t wear it all day.

And on that note, here is your Fashion Friday update

Monday (holy blur, sorry about that)

Cardi: Banana Republic, Shirt: Tommy Hillfiger, Pants: The Limited (Drew fit), shoes: Jessica Simpson wedges

Tuesday

Scarf: The Rack, top: Ralph Lauren, tank: Lady Hathaway via Costco (can Costco pleeeeease start carrying these again?), pants: Express, shoes: Naturalizer (and I totally forgot my socks in gym bag, grr!)

Wednesday

Sweater: Mossimo at Target, skirt: Express, tights: HUE (my favorite!), boots: Impo at DSW (and they have stretch in them – perfect for fitting over jeans! Or, ya know, large calf muscles.)

Thursday

Sweater: Mossimo at Target, short sleeve blazer thing: JKLA from Ross, Pants: Express, Shoes: Naturalizer

Friday

Cardi: Halogen, polka dot top: The Rack, belt: ?, from The Rack, jeans: 7 for all Mankind, shoes: Sam & Libby (the pic where I was looking at the camera was even more blurry. Woops!)

After the staff vs. student basketball game I was all hyped up and ready to do something fun, like take a nap. But today was both payday and new coupon day at Costco. After a quick trip for the necessities the hubs and I came home to find dinner ready. I think I will make the Monday Meal Plan to designate Libb to make Friday meals from now on!

On tonight’s menu: Black Bean Polenta Casserole

We subbed a can of diced green chiles for the bell pepper, (all we had), and a mixture of pepperjack and cheddar instead of just cheddar.

Mmmm melty cheese + black beans.

This recipe was chalk full of Leila friendly ingredients: cheese, polenta, onions, cumin…however, when we make it again I would mix everything together instead of layering the dish. Libb, of course, wanted to add bacon into the mix.

Earlier eats included a 2% vanilla bean latte from the Service Station, conveniently located inside my gym. My deal with myself is that if I make it to the gym all 5 workdays then I treat myself to Latte Friday. I’m proud to say I made it all 5 this week!

I paired my latte with dark chocolate oats. Yes, you read that correctly. Better Oats makes a dark chocolate mixture called Lavish. I got a little overzealous at the last Rosauers cereal sale and stocked up on these bad boys, only to discover they weren’t as amazing as I had hoped. Luckily, if you add a dollop of peanut butter the oats are reminiscent of a no-bake cookie (a.k.a. elephant poop), and that makes me very happy. The cookie, not the poop.

For lunch I enjoyed another 50% off Amy’s meal!

This pasta was delicious! I really need to figure out the correct spice to tomato ratio for Amy’s sauce. It was, dare I say, perfect. Amy never lets me down. My side of apple slices just couldn’t compete, and were therefore not photographed.

Or, ya know, I forgot my camera when I went to lunch.

Snacks included your standard nanner and another amazing scone.

Seriously, 6 days later and these scones are still just amazing as day one. Yes, I individually wrapped them and froze them, but a lot of the time when I defrost my baked goods they lose their moisture. Not these babies. So, please, do yourself a favor and make these scones.

I’m currently watching a little BBC Life action (insects & bugs), and trying to rest my poor legs. I wonder if I can book a last minute massage for tomorrow morning…

What exercise goal did you accomplish this week?

Did you try a new recipe this week? How did it turn out?

One thought on “I’ve got spirit

  1. I need to make that gym/latte deal with myself. 😉
    The exercise goal of my week: Train for Bloomsday (of course!)
    New Recipe this week: Yes, thank you for asking. It was a Southwestern Chicken Salad. It was alright.

Leave a Reply

