Today’s breakfast was brought to you by the letter E

E for Easy

and for Eggs

also for Egg-cellent.

As many of you know, my dear friend Kelly is the new whole foods contributor on Once a Month Mom (OAMM). After checking out some of her latest creations, I started browsing other recipes OAMM had to offer. A breakfast in the diet section caught my eye, and I quickly decided I needed to add it to my weekend cooking lineup.

I am not on a diet, and do not really agree with the whole “on a diet” cycle. Yes, I wrote cycle, not lifestyle. As a diet is not, in fact, a lifestyle. At least for me, a diet was always either “on” or “off” rather than a lifestyle change. But even though I am not on a diet, I often browse diet menus because the ingredients are sometimes healthier. Sometimes.

The dish that would be a great breakfast after lifting weights, was the protein packed egg-white breakfast sandwich.  Since I gave up meat for Lent, however, I had to get creative. And I also knew there was no way I was going to ingest 2% cheese. To me, 2% cheese = rubber.

Funny thing is, I used to make this breakfast all the time back in my poor post-college days. Although I cooked my eggs and veggies in a skillet, which always resulted in crumbly, falling apart and soggy egg sandwiches. But this recipe called for baking* your eggs. I figured this might be the perfect solution to my soggy situation.

*Since seeing this method I’ve noticed it in quite a few similar dishes. Apparently everyone knew this trick but me!

Egg-cellent Break-wich

Adapted from this recipe

Nutritionals: Cal: 248, Carb: 26g, Fat: 10g, Pro: 17, Fiber: 6

Serves 8

Ingredients:

8 Oroweat multi-grain Sandwich Thins

1 large Egg Whites container (or 16 egg whites)

4 large eggs

3 oz  bell pepper, chopped

3 oz onion, chopped

3 oz baby bella mushrooms, diced

2 TBS 1% milk

2 tsp Cholula hot sauce, or hot sauce of your choice

6 Morning Star Farms (soy) sausages, or 6 turkey sausages (nutritionals for MSF soysages)

1/4 tsp sea salt

6 oz shredded cheddar cheese

Directions

Pre-heat oven to 350.

In a large bowl, combine egg whites, eggs, milk, salt and hot sauce. Beat well. Add onions, baby bella mushrooms and bell pepper.

Slightly defrost your Morning Star Soysage patties, or turkey sausage patties, and dice into bite size pieces.

Pour mixture into a greased 9×13 glass pan. Bake for 10 minutes. Sprinkle dish with cheese, and return to oven for 20-30 minutes (check for doneness at 20 minutes).

At this point I got a tad nervous. The egg dish was trying to escape my pan.

But after leaving the pyrex dish on the counter to cool for 45 minutes I was pleased to see the dish had calmed down and was ready to behave like a lady.

same corner!


At this point you need to cut the dish into 8 equal parts, set up an assembly line of Oroweat sandwich thins, and place one egg-square per sandwich thin.

I wrapped them in plastic wrap, and popped ’em four at a time to a freezer bag, and stored them in my freezer for easy grab-n-go weekday meals.

Super easy, super cheesy.

Day of serving:

Craptastic iPhone photos aside, here is how I re-heated this egg-cellent meal.

I removed the Oroweat thins and threw ’em in the toaster.

I heated the eggalicious slab at 50% power for 1 minute. Then I heated at full power for 1:30 (I have an old, lower powered microwave at work. I would check this at 1 minute and go from there). Then I “drained” the egg by placing it on a paper towel.

After draining I reassembled my egg-cellent break-wich.

I was very egg-cited. It was so egg-stravigant. I could go on with egg-stra egg words, egg-cetera, egg-cetera. But I’ll spare you.

 

What is your favorite way to eat eggs?

6 thoughts on “Today’s breakfast was brought to you by the letter E

  1. Yum! Those looks really good. I love eggs for breakfast. They’re eggactly what I want in the morning. I also love the idea of pre-making these!

  2. Pingback: New and Improved! Weigh in Wednesday | Spinach and Skittles

Leave a Reply

