You say goodbye, I say hello.

Goodbye to waking up whenever I feel like it…

hello to my alarm blaring at 5:04 a.m.

(source)

 

Goodbye leisurely breakfasts and coffee in mugs…

hello carefully thought out meals, and coffee via to-go cups.

(nanner + a very delicious scone)

(Mexican rice, black beans, onion, green onion, cilantro & tomatoes)

(Lilly’s Roasted Garlic Hummus + veggies)

Goodbye afternoon bike rides by the river…

hello early morning jogs on the dreadmill.

 

Goodbye computer for youtube, personal email, facebook and blogs…

hello over 100 emails in my work inbox.

(source)

 

Goodbye reading whatever I please…

hello ordering books and supplies for the library.

(This book was published in 1955. Last check out was in 2006. Previous check out in 1992. I think it may need an updated replacement, hmmm)

(Do you think I should order the William & Kate paper dolls too?)

Goodbye eating whatever strikes my fancy…

hello Meal Plan Monday.

As you may recall, one of my favorite Sunday morning rituals is sitting in my family room with my cookbook collection, computer, DVR and a cuppa joe. I carefully plan out a week’s worth of meals, designate who will cook each evening, and which nights are best for leftovers.

Hi, my name is Leila, and I have Type-A personality disorder.

Oh, that’s not a disorder? It should be. I know I am totally crazy.

Right now my goals are to:

  • Finish eating down my freezer. (This will be easier to accomplish after Easter*).
  • Cook double or triple batches of meals & freeze the additional servings for future dinners. (I realize this seems counter productive to my first goal, but I mean eating down the meat/bread situation that has taken over my freezer).
  • Try at least one new meal per week.

*I gave up red meat, chicken and pork for Lent.

Since this is something I enjoy creating so much, I decided to make it a regular feature on the blog. I could easily post this on Sunday, but I like alliteration, so Meal Plan Monday it is.

This weeks lineup:

Monday (Leila):  Kale and Tomato pasta + salad

I just finished eating this. It wasn’t amazing, in fact it was rather bland.

The salad was enjoyable, however.

Tuesday (Libb: Live-in-basement-brother for you newbies):

Wednesday

  • Leftover Kale and Tomato Pasta + salad

Thursday (Leila):

  • Roasted mushroom & butternut squash black bean burritos

Friday (Libb):

Saturday:

Sunday (Tim):

  • 13 Bean Mix Soup + cornbread + salad

 

Do you meal plan?

How do you organize your plan? (weekly, monthly, bulk cooking, couponing, CSA Box, etc.)


13 thoughts on “You say goodbye, I say hello.

  1. Oh snap! I never thought of my CSA box as “meal planning” but you said it so it must be true. I just try to be sure we have enough stuff to go with my CSA stuff so it all gets eaten. If that’s meal planning, then gold star for me! 🙂

  2. All I have to say is my favorite part today was “goodbye to coffee in mugs.” Ha ha 🙂 ……so very true. WHAT is it about hot coffee in ceramics??

  3. Since it’s just me, I don’t really have a meal plan. I buy what’s on sale or my staple veggies and such and just go from there. If I’m working on a specific recipe for a contest or have a particular craving, then I might plan a little more. With my school lunches I plan insomuch as I make three or four lunches all at one time so they are ready to go. [I’m not as Type A about this as I was in the beginning of the year, though.]

    And the fact that you are doing this on Mondays for alliteration made me smile. 🙂 [and feel a special sort of kinship with you]

  4. I do the same thing every week – sit down with all of the recipes I have been eying, cook books, our schedules, and try to map out the meal plan for the week. (with some trash TV playing in the background!) Lately, I have been so busy, I have been relying on some of the bulk cooking I have done and have in the freezer. Another thing I do is make a lot of interesting food over the weekend and the leftovers tend to feed us through the week. Pretty boring, but it works for us!! I am really enjoying your blog – Lindsay living is my sister- in-law so I discovered you through her!

  5. I hope you enjoy the Black Bean & Polenta Casserole! It’s my fave! You have a great blog and nice to see Spokanites hitting mine. 🙂

    Farmgirl XX
    Heather

  6. Pingback: I’ve got spirit | Spinach and Skittles

Leave a Reply

