Whole wheat banana protein muffins

Today was one of those days when I really hated being a grownup. Last night our furnace stopped working. The hubs called the company we purchased said furnace from, a mere 4 months ago, and made a noontime appointment. He ran off to Lowe’s to pick up chicken coop building supplies before the appointment. While attempting to leave Lowe’s, he discovered the Volvo’s battery was dead. Insert father-in-law, Rob, to the rescue. Rob graciously drove into town to move all supplies from our Volvo to his truck in order to reach the dead battery. Yes, our battery is where one would normally find a spare tire. Why? Volvo thinks they are different/fancy/cool?

I hate you Volvo.

After finishing* the laundry, finishing up with the furnace repair man, and getting chicken coop materials home, I decided a little baking might improve my mood.

*a job that is never actually finished

I had these muffin liners sitting in my muffin sheet for two weeks. I hadn’t felt the inspiration to either bake muffins, or to put away the liners.

Yes, those would be Halloween liners my friends.

I took one look at my fruit bowl and decided something needed to be done with these sad looking nanners.

Inspiration finally struck, and I started combing the internet for a recipe that only required me to shop in my pantry.

I found one, but it didn’t look too fantastic. Halfway through the process of pulling items out of my pantry I remembered I only had whole wheat flour. Since my oven was already in the process of pre-heating, and I wasn’t in the mood to run to the store, I decided to give it a go.

I didn’t have high hopes, as I prefer to blend my whole wheat and white flour together. But I’m glad I did, because these muffins are so light and fluffy you would never guess they were whole wheat! I added so many additional ingredients to the recipe I found, it is almost comical to say I adapted the recipe. But, here is the original recipe in case you don’t feel like all the add-ins.

Whole wheat banana protein muffins

Makes 18 muffins

Nutritionals: Cal: 145, Carb: 28g, Fat: 2g, Pro: 6 g

Ingredients

4 very ripe bananas

2 eggs

3/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce

1 tsp vanilla

2 cups whole wheat flour

1/2 cup white sugar

1/4 cup brown sugar, packed

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp baking soda

2 scoops GNC whey protein powder, unflavored (you could also use vanilla or chocolate or strawberry for a fun change)

2 TBS chia seeds

Directions

In medium bowl mash bananas, add vanilla, applesauce and eggs. Blend well.

In large bowl combine whole wheat flour, white sugar, brown sugar, cinnamon, baking soda and protein powder.

Mix wet into dry.

After combined fold in chia seeds.

Distribute evenly in muffin liners,

and bake 20-25 minutes, (until toothpick is inserted and comes out clean).

Transfer to wire rack to cool. I use the same toothpick to move my muffins.

Enjoy plain, with peanut butter, nutella, cream cheese, or whatever your heart desires.

Mmmm, nanner-nugget.

One thought on “Whole wheat banana protein muffins

Leave a Reply

