Go zags!

Oh Thursday, I detest you.

Seven forty-five a.m. meetings really cramp my style. You would think needing to arrive at work a whopping fifteen minutes earlier than normal wouldn’t be that big of a deal. But for some reason my body just doesn’t want to cooperate.

No, scratch that, not my body, my mind. Every Wednesday night I pack my gym bag, and every Thursday morning I skip the gym. Last night I was determined to go. This morning I awoke to my alarm at the normal 5:04 a.m. harp tune, hit snooze twice, and tried to talk myself into going to the gym. I decided a mental pro-con list might help.

Pros:

  • Probably won’t get any more sleep between now and 6:15 a.m.
  • The hubs is snoring.
  • I already have my gym bag packed.
  • I won’t have to take turns in front of the bathroom mirror.
  • Thirty minutes of exercise is better than none.
  • Coffee is already brewed, and ready for my contigo. If I wait it will taste burnt from sitting on the burner too long.
  • I get ready much more efficiently at the gym than I do at home.
  • I will feel better afteward.

Cons

  • My bed is sooooo warm and comfy!

Ummm that is all I had for a con. And, sadly, that con would usually trump all my pros. But today I pushed my con aside, and forced myself to get out of my oh-so-comfortable bed and hit the gym for a little jogging action.

I knocked out 2.36 miles in 30 minutes on the treadmill. Not too shabby, (for me, I am suuuuuuuper slow, so for me, that is awesome). However, I realized that I only have 6 weeks and 3 days until Bloomsday. The furthest I’ve run in my “training” is 3 miles. Three miles. And it is a 12K. I am in no way ready to be a participant!

Crap. (Not to be confused with runners trots.)

So I’m determined to find a six week 12K program to get my bootay in gear. No more of this laissez faire, run when I feel like it, I’m totally fine attitude.

Post gym I ate a packet of oatfit and a chobani, with coffee on the side, of course.

Then I had the most fabulous salad: spinach, roasted red bell pepper, craisins, goat cheese, sweet onion, and homemade dressing,

and look what I found inside, a 3-leaf clover!

It isn’t 4 leaves, but that has to be good luck, right?!

I also gobbled up the excess of my quinoa stuffed bell pepper mixture.

Later on I snacked on a nanner,

and some macadamia nut hershey’s kisses from my co-worker, who just returned from Hawaii, (lucky duck!).

And I also rocked a green halo all day.

After leaving work on time(!!!), I took off through the woods,

and to Grandmother’s house The Flying Goat I went.

I enjoyed quite a few treats,

tried to take in-focus pictures,

(oh wait, there we go),

and cheered on my zags.

(source)

Oh, and by the way, we won. Thankyouverymuch. Saturday, I am anxiously awaiting your presence.

Do you watch college basketball? Which team are you rooting for in the NCAA tournament?

 

2 thoughts on “Go zags!

  1. I have the same pro/con list about working out before school. It really is SO early, but there is something nice about having your afternoon/evenings “free” [because I do schedule workouts like appointments].

    What is this oatfit? How do I not know about this?

    And that is amazing about the three leaf clover! I found a ladybug in my lettuce the other day and I waffled between awe and amazement and happiness at my good fortune….and the feeling of “is that gross?” and “I better wash this REALLY well.” 🙂

    • Oatfit is made by Better Oats. They are ok taste wise, but really, really convenient when I either forget my breakfast or don’t have time. I love that the packet has a measuring cup line so you use the correct amount of water. They also make Lavish, a chocolate oatmeal! I add a tbs of peanut butter and it’s like a no-bake cookie!

Leave a Reply

