chillin

Yesterday I did not blog about how much I hate daylight savings time. I’m sure you saw enough of that on your facebook feed. Or maybe you were the complainer. But don’t worry, I share the same sentiment. However, yesterday the gym was pure heaven, hardly anyone was there!  I smirked my way through my workout, thinking about how I was getting my sweat on while they were all sleeping in. Lazy bums. But then I had to eat my smirk, because today DST kicked my arse, and I totally skipped my workout.

Snooze, snooze, snooze….reset alarm….force myself out of bed, pour coffee and hit the road. Caffeine and oatmeal fueled my morning.

old fashioned oats, vanilla almond milk, chia seeds, raisins, cinnamon

By lunch my B-6 vitamin finally entered my system. This fabulous salad of spinach, goat cheese, onion, tomato, bell pepper, craisins and homemade dressing helped too.

Plus an apple and some butternut squash soup.

During my late library night I snacked on a nanner, some honey-nana chobani yogurt (which is very sweet, I don’t think I’ll purchase again), and some decaf tea.

And then I decided to check out The Chill Spot, a fro-yo place that if I take a certain route just happens to be on my way home. Funny how that happens.

Upon entering the Chill Spot I discovered it was a self-serve situation. Score!

The Chill Spot offers 8 YoCream, (out of Portland, OR), flavors on tap. They also allow you to taste all of their flavors with mini tasting cups. YoCream has non-dairy, low-fat and sugar-free options as well. Here is a complete list of the rotating flavors + nutritional information.

Also available – a plethora of toppings, all self-serve too!

Options range from your standard fruits, candy bars, syrups to toasted coconut and low-fat granola. And the best part? The price! The Chill Spot weighs your concoction, and you pay 39 cents per ounce. Not too shabby.

Around the corner from the yogurt bar was a fun kiddie station complete with toys, coloring books and foodie magazines.

Okay, it was totally a Leila station. I foresee lazy summer afternoons, sitting on their patio, eating froyo and partaking in a little coloring action so I too can grace their wall’o’art.

All that coloring within the lines? Ya, adults totally were coloring, totally.

And let’s be honest, I’ll probably color on their faux-chalkboard too.

I exited the store with a pecan, vanilla and peanut butter fro-yo topped with cookie dough.

It is currently sitting in my freezer, waiting for post-dinner consumption. I made a chocolate/peanut butter + oreo bowl for the hubs, and Libb requested vanilla with 5 toppings.

Oh and when I got home I was greeted  with a care package from my mom including a super cute honey dispenser, fun forgive me I zinned magnet, her samples from Estee Lauder, (which she always gives me, and I love – I was totally in need of new mascara!), and LACTAID!

My Costco stopped carrying Lactaid, and I was one unhappy camper. When I inquired about the lack of lactose enzymes the Costco employee told me they might get some back during “ice cream season” in the summer. Like being lactose intolerant is a seasonal issue. Ummmm, no. So I started the hunt: Target was out, Fred Meyer was out, even Wal-Mart was out! I braved Wal-Mart and they didn’t provide any stomach comfort!

Mom and Dad to the rescue! Their Costco still sells these magical pills that allow me to consume dairy without any all of the side-effects.

After a quick debate about which leftover we would consume, we settled on taco’s for Tuesday. It isn’t Yakima style, but it works.

Tortillas filled with tomato, onion, black beans, diced green chiles, corn, cilantro and plain fage Greek yogurt.

Now about that froyo in the freezer…

4 thoughts on “chillin

  1. Pingback: Everybody dance now. | Spinach and Skittles

Leave a Reply

