Rockin’ the red pump

Today I rocked some red pumps. I own 3 pairs, but decided the brightest would showcase my cause the best.

As you may remember from yesterday’s post, today is National Women & Girls HIV/AIDS Awareness Day.

The Red Pump Project set out with a goal of getting 500 bloggers to spread the word. Awareness is a powerful thing. Today the count is over 1,200 bloggers supporting their cause! For a complete list, click here.

Why is it important to spread awareness?

  • Unlike cancer and some severe illnesses, HIV and AIDS are 100% preventable, (unless, of course, a baby is born with HIV or AIDS).
  • Approximately 280,000 women in the United States are HIV Positive or have AIDS.
  • HIV is the 5th leading cause of death in women in the United States, ages 25-44
  • The largest number of HIV/AIDS diagnoses during recent years was for women aged 15–39

Do you need to get tested?

Other than rockin’ the red pumps today, I enjoyed the best.yogurt.ever.

Ever.

A few weeks ago Sarah, over at The Smart Kitchen, raved about how much better Chobani 2% was than her normal 0%. I knew 2%(fat that is) existed, but I hadn’t ever seen it on the shelves of my grocery store. However, this weekend I trecked it up to Huckleberry’s Natural Market, (simply drop the “H” and add an “F” to describe their prices), and noticed this pineapple chobani 2% gracing their dairy section.

Oh my heavens, I almost licked the container clean. But I was in my Thursday morning meeting and decided not to offend my co-workers. I’m too kind, really.

I also nibbled on my favorite processed chewy granola bar.

By lunch I was starving. Like gnaw off your arm and munch on it, starving. Luckily I had a fiber and protein packed dish to enjoy. Round two of my curried lentil salad. And yes, Haylee, I promise to post this recipe soon!

Paired with an apple.

Did I mention the fiber? Ummm, yeah, a little too much fiber. I probably should have paired my salad with a green salad to aid digestion, but this red’n’green cutie was calling my name.

Later in the afternoon this showed up on my desk.

I didn’t plan on eating it, as eating donuts really just cause me a stomach ache and sugar-induced headache. But then I cracked it open and ate the frosting inside. There is just something about super sugary store-made frosting that gets me every time. Sad, I know.

Tonight we’re hosting sister-in-law #4*, Kim, for dinner. Here Kim is posing with honey from our family friend’s honey farm.Mmmm local honey.

La Brea Rosemary Olive Oil bread, portabella mushroom raviolis and a green salad are on my menu. Mmmmm, carbalicious.

*If you don’t know me in real life, you probably don’t know that I have 5 sisters-in-law. #4 refers to birth order.

What is your favorite carbalicious meal?

One thought on “Rockin’ the red pump

Leave a Reply

