Weigh-in Wednesday: what’s weighing you down?

Did you miss last week’s weigh-in Wednesday post? It’s okay, it didn’t actually happen. Since deciding two week ago to take a break from the scale for a month, I’ve been trying to take my focus away from my weight. I mean, that is sort of the whole point, right?

So last week I posted a recipe instead.

This week I’m focusing on what is weighing me down, figuratively speaking of course. Responsibilities and being a grown-up with a mortgage and student loans pretty much sums it up. Not that I don’t enjoy having my own home and where my education has gotten me, I do, I just kind of want a maid, butler, chef and foot massager at my beck n’call. Is that too much to ask?

I’ve also discussed my mini-goals, and my needs. When I give myself time and attention miraculous things happen. When I don’t…let’s just say, you don’t want to see me when I’m angry.

So yesterday when I saw a fun experiment over at Megan’s blog, Running Foodie, I knew I needed to participate in a little self-improvement. She challenged her students to change one aspect of their daily routine for 14 days, and she is having them write about their experiences every day of the experiment. I am really excited to see how this progresses, as her students are the same age as mine.

She is also participating in this challenge herself, as all good teachers model the behavior they want from their students. Megan’s dedicating 20 minutes a day to yoga, pretty fun* challenge huh? In addition to challenging herself, she is challenging others, ahem, you(!), to change one aspect in your daily routine for the next 14 days.

*I actually don’t know if this is fun, I’ve only attempted yoga once. I have a feeling working with an actual yoga instructor would result in a better attitude than Jillian Michaels demands on my TV screen.

It didn’t take me long to determine what I (desperately) needed to change in my routine: read more! But not just more, we teachers like measurable goals. I need to dedicate one hour a night to reading for pleasure. Lately I’ve been totally slacking on the book front, which is really bad considering my profession! My to-read shelf has grown out of control, and I’ve promised two students I would read the same book they are reading.

On my to-read shelf:

If I Stay by Gayle Forman

Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater


And I am still reading, (and LOVING):

Cinderella Ate My Daughter by Peggy Orenstein

So I need to back away from my computer and unplug from blogland an hour earlier each night. This may be easier said than done.

Will you join the 14-day experiment?

In other bloggie news, you may have noticed the Rock the Red Pump banner to the right of your screen, (if you don’t read me via google reader, that is). Tomorrow, March 10th, is National Women and Girls HIV/AIDS Awareness Day. The red pump symbolizes empowerment for women who have been affected by HIV/AIDS.

Did you know:

  • Every 9 1/2 minutes someone in the U.S. is infected with HIV?
  • Approximately 1/5th of individuals living with HIV does not know he or she is infected?
  • The largest number of HIV/AIDS diagnoses during recent years was for women aged 15–39.

To learn more about Rock the Red Pump and HIV/AIDS prevention and awareness, please visit the red pump project.

Will you join me in wearing red shoes tomorrow?

So right about now I bet you’re thinking, Ummm Leila, isn’t this a food blog?

Yes, it is. Well, it’s a (trying to be) healthy living blog, with a major focus on food. But part of a healthy lifestyle is making time to take care of yourself and those around you. My first challenge is to participate in the 14-day experiment, (for myself), and my second challenge is to participate in spreading HIV/AIDS awareness, (for others).

But since I know you are dying to know, this is how I munched my way through my day…

Brekkie was another one of those tasty Voskos honey vanilla bean Greek yogurts, plus a nanner.

Today was first lunch for me, and I indulged in this week’s Costco find: Pacific Organics Butternut Squash Soup – my fav! Plus, the boys in my house hate butternut squash soup, so I get to have the entire Costco flat to myself 🙂

I also enjoyed an apple and a turkey* + laughing cow + dijon ‘tard sammie on whole-grain english muffin.

*more on that later.

After lunch my day went downhill quickly. A very thoughtful co-worker noticed I was having a tough time and brought me a no-water soy chai latte. Ahhh, perfection!

This baby helped me get through the rest of my afternoon + after-school meeting. Co-worker to the rescue! Oh, and maybe a few hard candies during my meeting too… 😉

After work the hubs and I indulged in a little Flying Goat action. Hello Riverside Focaccia.

And hello roasted garlic, mmmmm…

*So on that turkey sammie…today is the first day of Lent. Aka, give up something for 40 days, as you prep for Easter. If you don’t observe Lent, the basic principal is that you give up something that is a sacrifice, which signifies what Christ gave up for you. As a child I always gave up things like candy, chocolate, junk food, etc…are you seeing the main focus here? Food. Ahhh, food.

Today is Ash Wednesday, which is the first day you need to give up something for Lent. I hadn’t given it much thought this year, until this morning when I decided to give up meat. I texted the hubs to see if he was in. It took a little convincing, but he obliged, under two conditions: we eat the meat we had already purchased for lunches this week, (hence the turkey sammie), and we still eat corned beef on St. Patty’s day. I am willing to bend on both issues, as I really hate to waste/throw away food and I already promised to make corned beef on St. Patty’s day, (I am a total sucker for traditions). So after I finish my deli meat for the week, and other than March 17, you should only be seeing vegetarian and vegan dishes on Spinach and Skittles for the next 40 days!

Did you give up anything for Lent? If so, what did you give up?

Are you going to join in the 14-day experiment? If so, post on Megan’s blog and tell me what you are doing to change your routine!

Will you wear read heals on March 10th?

Leave a Reply

