Curried Split Pea Soup [vegan]

This morning Rilo woke me up at 3:35 to relieve herself. I groggily stumbled to the back door and willed myself to stay in the half-asleep haze, hoping to get another hour and a half of shut eye. At 4:30 the hubs poked me in the forehead. Huh? Yeah…Rilo woke him up to relieve herself again. I desperately tried to cling on to the sleep that was draining from my body. No dice. I was awake, and none to pleased. I asked him why he poked me in the head. His response? To see if I was still here.

I guess I am weightless.

I almost got out of bed, but I resisted, thinking somehow I would still catch some zzz’s. Crazy, I know. I tossed and turned until 5:31, when I finally drug myself out of bed. Six ounces of iced coffee sent me on my way to the gym. And guess what? It wasn’t pitch black! Spring is around the corner folks 🙂

Post gym I went straight to work made a detour home because I forgot my work keys and id badge. Arrrgh. At least I had some nummyness in a bowl to improve my mood.

This Voskos Greek honey vanilla bean yogurt was bomb(dot)com.

And it paired well with oats + nanner.

Lunch was also fabulous. I had been looking forward to this meal ever since I made it last night: Curried Lentil Salad.*

Pure joy.

Paired with an impromptu kiwi+strawberry side salad. I forgot I had this little kiwi in my work fridge. Mmmm, it was the sweet pick-me-up I needed with a shot of Vitamin-D.

The sunshine didn’t keep me going as much as I had hoped. By 2:30 I was ready to crash. Unfortunately that wasn’t an option.

Luna tried to help, but she didn’t succeed.

Luckily the day was almost over and I could crash. Oh wait, nope, I needed to make dinner. I found this recipe for Curried Split Pea Soup on Huckleberries Natural Market website and was pretty excited about it.

It did not disappoint! Plus it was easy-peasy (pun intended) to make. A great meatless Monday meal to add to your meal plan.

I, of course, modified it. I just can’t help myself, no recipe is safe.

Curried Split Pea Soup

Serves 6 (approximately 1 cup servings)

(Nutritionals: Cal: 176, Carb: 43g, Fat: 0g, Pro: 14g)

Ingredients:

4 cups vegi broth

2 cups yellow split peas

8 baby carrots (or 2 medium carrots), sliced

1 medium yellow onion, chopped

4 garlic cloves, minced

1 TBS curry powder

1 tsp turmeric

1/2 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp corriander

1/2 tsp paprika

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

1 tsp salt

1 bay leaf

Directions

Spray large pot with cooking spray, olive oil spray or pour 1 TBS extra virgin olive oil. Heat over medium, and add garlic, onion and carrots. Heat for 2 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Add curry, cumin, turmeric, paprika, cayenne pepper, corriander and salt. Stir. Add broth, split peas and bay leaf.

Cover, bring to boil, reduce to low and simmer 45-60 minutes.

I like my peas on the softer side, so I simmered an hour.

I topped my bowl with sour cream, defeating the whole vegan purpose of this dish. But it was just so tasty! If I had plain Greek yogurt I would have topped my bowl with that instead.

With a side of sourdough bread. Mmmm, my stummy is very happy right now.

Oh, and Rilo says Go Zags! This game is intense!!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Curried Split Pea Soup [vegan]

  1. Pingback: MPM: freezer love |

  2. Pingback: why I shouldn’t go to Costco hungry |

Leave a Reply

