Buzz and Cluck

It appears we are getting chickens.

Today we ran quite a few errands, one of them involved a trip to Sun People Dry Goods for their Buzz and Cluck festival.

The hubs has been wanting chickens for quite some time, so today was the perfect opportunity to find out a little more information about raising chickens inside city limits. Unfortunately we didn’t learn as much as we had hoped, but the chicks sure were cute!

While there I found this adorable crocheted apple. I think my desk at work might need a friend…

Craig Goodwin, of Year of Plenty, was also there signing copies of his book, aptly named Year of Plenty. He was pretty busy chatting it up with patrons, so I decided I would purchase the book via Amazon. I’m sure he’ll be signing copies once the Spokane Public Market gets going.

(source)

Have you heard of Year of Plenty? I only recently found out about Goodwin’s blog. He and his family spent a year living as locavores: consuming only what was local, used, homegrown, or homemade. I’m glad I found his blog, because he has a nifty tab for all things Spokane.

Daily eats included coffee, 2 slices bacon and pumpkin pie un-overnight overnight oats:

1 container plain yogurt, 1/3 cup canned pumkin, 2 TBS raisins, 1/2 T chia seeds, 2 tsp brown sugar, 1/3 cup old fashioned dry oats.

Pom lychee green tea, (which was delish), and a nanner while running my errands, (I did not eat the think thin bar, but I am interested if anyone has tried these before? I can’t resist a sale, so this wound up in my basket).

I also wound up eating a smidge of cashew butter because my new container fell out of our pantry and it broke! I salvaged all but a tablespoon of this creamy goodness.

I also prepped my quick-n-easy app for my friend’s Appetizer Extravaganza Birthday Bash.

Tim’s mom’s homemade pepper jelly + cream cheese w/multigrain crackers. Doesn’t get any easier than that.

I packed everything up, drove over to the party, and discovered no cars were parked outside their house. A quick check on the iPhone to my fb app revealed the party was not in fact tonight. It’s tomorrow. I need to re-think having close attention to details on my resume.

So now I’m enjoying a little Bombshell Red while I wait for our cod to defrost for impromptu fish tacos. Fish tacos do not sound as enjoyable as an appetizer extravaganza!

Would you ever consider raising chickens in your back yard (for eggs)?

9 thoughts on “Buzz and Cluck

  1. A. You could have totally come in – even though there’s nothing going on here tonight but the kids watching “Grown-ups” and me making them stir-fry.
    2. I want chickens, but I’m afraid that my dogs would scare them to death. So there’s not a lot learned about having them in the city limits, though? Griffersons didn’t have that many answers? Boo.

    • Haha, I did think about just saying screw it and parking myself in front of your t.v. for some Law & Order: SVU action.
      Tim looked it up and you can have 3 chickens (4 total birds) w/in the city. They have an ordinance where you have to have them housed 90 ft. away from the street and 90 ft. away from every structure…but since pretty much all lot sizes don’t allow that they kind of turn a blind eye.
      And pshhh, a Grifferson answer their phone? When does that happen? 🙂

  2. HOW DID YOU KNOW I WAS LAW & ORDERING? Did you have a zoom on the back room?

    I saw all FOUR Griffersons at Lowe’s today. It was quite the day.

  3. I’ve been meaning to check out Sun People sometime! Curious as to what “dry goods” are…

    We also want chickens someday, just not at our current house. Fresh eggs would be so great!

    • They’ve got lots of organic cotton stuff (baby clothes, crib sets, adult bedding, pillows, etc), bamboo cooking utensils, gardening books, natural cleaning products (which are wet, not dry…) and the like.

Leave a Reply

