Southwest Cilantro Dip

Last weekend, (wow was it really only last weekend?), I had a Rockband birthday party to attend. I knew about the event, but didn’t actually read the evite. At 2 p.m. the day of I realized, via text message, that I needed to bring a snackie as it was potluck style. Not wanting to go to the store, I needed to get my creative juices flowin’ and I started rifling through my pantry to see what I could come up with. I’d been meaning to try Kath’s cilantro pesto recipe, and knew I could use it, with some tweeking, to create the perfect southwest style dip.

Southwest Cilantro Dip

Ingredients

1 bunch cilantro, stems at the bottom chopped off (top ones are fine)

1/4 cup parmesan cheese

1/4 cup plain Greek yogurt (I used Chobani 0%, but you can sub regular plain yogurt or light sour cream)

1 TBS pine nuts

3 cloves garlic

1 serrano pepper

2 TBS lime juice

1 tsp cumin

sea salt to taste

1 1/2 bell pepper, chopped (I used 1 red and half an orange)

1 can corn kernels, rinsed/drained

1 can black beans, rinsed/drained

1/2 red onion, chopped

1 large tomato, or 3 small tomatoes, diced

Directions

In your food processor combine cilantro, parmesan cheese, Greek yogurt, pine nuts, garlic, serrano pepper, lime juice and cumin in food processor.

Pulse and scrape down.

Do a taste test and add salt as needed. Pulse until liquified.

Mix sauce with corn, black beans, bell pepper, tomato and onion.

Enjoy as a dip with chips, as a taco filling, on top of cheesy rice or just straight up with a spoon.

3 thoughts on “Southwest Cilantro Dip

    • I bought my own domain and transferred over to wordpress – much, much more user-friendly and I have a lot more options now that tumblr didn’t offer. Although I think I lost a few readers in the process 😦

  1. Pingback: Weigh-in Wednesday: what’s weighing you down? | Spinach and Skittles

Leave a Reply

