Fashion Friday: Inside-Out

Today was dubbed “Inside-Out” day at school, in honor of NEDAwareness Week of course. Who you are on the inside is more important than what you look like on the outside. To symbolize this fact students were encouraged to wear their clothes inside out. Unfortunately, yesterday’s snow day threw us off a tad and I was one of the only teachers who showed up today wearing her clothes inside out.

Yes, I am totes awesome. Tell your friends.

In case you weren’t aware, it is really difficult to wear jeans inside out. Luckily I wore a pair that are a tad too big, so zipping and buttoning them wasn’t as big of an issue as an issue as I thought it might be.

All day long I had students asking me if I knew my pants were inside out.

Umm, yes, I do. Apparently the snow day threw them off as well, since all week the same students had been looking forward to Inside-Out day.

They were also totes impressed with the design on my pockets. They are 80’s fab.

I can’t share a full weeks worth of work outfits for today’s Fashion Friday. Monday we didn’t have school, (President’s Day), and Thursday we didn’t have school, (snow day). So all I have are Tuesday and Wednesday to add to my Fashion Friday post. I could really get used to 3-day work weeks.

Tuesday w/jacket:

and without…

Wednesday (wear purple for NEDAwarenss!)

What else do I have to share with you re: NEDAwareness Week?

Ummm, lots! But I will try to be sort and sweet, as I’ve been o my soap box all week. Today I stumbled across Stop Hating Your Body.

Stop Hating Your Body is a user generated website. It’s mission is,

to love ourselves, every last inch! To support others, help build positive self esteem! This is The Beauty Revolution! This is a place of encouragement, a place to talk about body image, a place for feeling beautiful. No matter what you look like, what color, what gender, what size or however many “flaws”, healthy, not healthy, working on it, we are all human, we all deserve to be happy, we all deserve to love ourselves.
With this blog you will see all kinds of REAL bodies, REAL people, REAL stories.

Great mission, right? Users post their journey to love and accept their body. Sometimes they are already at that point. Sometimes they are still struggling to be okay with who they are. If a post may be triggering, it is noted. Although I only discovered this site today, I knew I had to pass it along. Stop beating yourself up! Treat your body with the respect it deserves, it is the only one you are going to get, the only life you are going to live. You have the power to change your perception. In the words of Nike, Just do it!

Love yourself, today, tomorrow, forever.

Leave a Reply

