Pizza experiment

My legs are so sore. But it is the good kind of hurt. I decided to use a light traffic hallway to do 3 sets of lunges yesterday. I have a love/hate relationship with lunges. I love the way my legs lean up quickly when I incorporate them into my work out routine. I hate actually doing them, and hate that I walk like a cowgirl afterward.

I’m currently lounging in the basement thinning out my DVR, heating pad under my hamstrings. Between this and my cuppa joe I am feeling rather relaxed. The chores will have to wait.

This isn’t what I planned to do with my Saturday. I am supposed to be in Seattle visiting my friend Reese.

But the forecast predicted snow in Seattle and poor pass conditions. A lack of snow tires/chains and not having more bars in more places, contrary to what AT&T’s advertisements would have you believe, meant I was sticking in Spokane for the weekend.

Not that I haven’t filled my time with fun adventures. Yesterday’s trip to TJ Maxx was rather fruitful.

The hubs decided to make some insanely tasty pizza utilizing this high heat process. Essentially you heat a cast iron skillet on your gas range for 20 minutes, flip it upside down, quickly create your pizza and put it on the bottom flat side of the pan and pop it under the broiler for less than two minutes. This process requires at least two people, and potholders that can stand up to high heat.

Unfortunately we had a miscommunication regarding the type of dough I needed to prepare.

I made my friend Kelly’s olive oil pizza dough, which is beyond delicious. However, this cooking method needs ultra thin dough, (which I didn’t realize), and her dough is perfect for big, chewy and billowy crust.

This dough is also a tad sticky.

I’m Edward Sticky-hands.

But at least I have a cute apron.

Sauce was made with with these bomb(dot)com tomatoes.

Mmmm fresh buffalo mozz.

Our pizza was your standard margarita (tomato sauce, mozz and basil), but I don’t have any pics of ours because I was helping. But I do have Libb’s pie prep to show you.

I don’t recommend topping your pie with pepperoni when implementing this cooking process. It may cause your pie to catch on fire.

But the results taste amazing.

Oh crispy pepperoni, how I love thee.

Sibling excitement for pizza.

Now I’m eating a spinach pancake,

and an ugly bowl of greek yogurt, blueberries, oats, chia seeds and cinnamon.

But I’d much rather be eating pizza.

Leave a Reply

