Santa Fe Chicken

Santa Fe Chicken a la crock pot

I love, love, love my crock pot! I mean, how much easier can cooking get? Throw ingredients in pot, turn nob, let sit a few hours and enjoy. Simple, simple.* I only have a few rules when making a crock pot meal: no browning or sautéing anything prior to cooking. Okay, I guess I only have one rule. The beauty of a crock pot is that meals made in it only require it to do the cooking. Why mess with a good thing by creating more dishes to wash?

*I really wanted to do a fun rhyme like easy peasy. But the only thing I could think of to rhyme with simple was pimple, and that doesn’t make you want to eat this meal.

So the other day when my friend Mandy’s facebook status inquired about favorite crock pot recipes I responded with Gina’s Crock Pot Santa Fe Chicken. While it is pretty darn tasty, I wanted to mess with it a bit to clean out my veggie drawer.

Enter Leila’s Santa Fe Chicken, inspired by this recipe.

Nutritionals (for 1/8th of recipe) Cal: 269, Carb: 28, Fat: 3, Pro:32

Ingredients

3 large chicken breasts (nutritionals from 26 ounces of chicken)

2 cups chopped onion (I used a blend of sweet and red)

1 large bell pepper, chopped (any color but green)

6 garlic cloves, minced

15 ounce can black beans, rinsed and drained

10 ounce bag frozen corn

14.4 ounce can diced tomatoes

2 tsp. ground cumin

1.5 tsp. cayenne pepper

1 tsp. black pepper

2 cups (or 14.4 ounce can) chicken broth

Salt to taste

Well hello my friends, what  a delightful and colorful bunch you are.

Directions

Throw all ingredients, but chicken, into crock pot. Stir to combine.

Nestle chicken breasts into the mix.

Cook on low for 10 hours, or high for 6 hours.

Enjoy over rice or quinoa.

One thought on “Santa Fe Chicken

  1. Pingback: Just around the corner |

Leave a Reply

