Weigh in Wednesday 5: I’m a chickpea.

Holy potholes, Spokane!

The worst intersection I encounter on my route home is Monroe/Garland. I can’t swerve and miss ‘em anymore and I am not going to be thrilled if my car needs to be realigned come spring.

Another thing that might need realigning is my eating. I let Saturday’s festivities slide into a rather unhealthy Sunday and possibly yesterday as well. Nothing overboard (portion wise), just not the best choices.

Back on track today though. A little stat attack for ya:

Start weight: +21

Goal weight: -21

Last week: -6

This week: back at -7

next week’s goal: -8

But…next week I am going to start tracking my measurements. I may switch my goals from weights to measurements, but I’m not really sure what to aim for on a weekly basis. Since weight fluxuates hourly I don’t think it is the best indicator of what’s going on in the ol body. So I’m going to do a little research…what do you think? How many centimeters per week is a good goal?

On to my daily routine…I definitely left my camera in my desk at work…again. Sigh, that is what afternoon meetings do to me.

The gym was a bland 40 minutes on the adaptive motion trainer. I need to give the treadmill a go tomorrow. I keep putting it off because I am so tired in the morning, but I know once I get going it will actually be okay.

And, I need to at least attempt it even if I prefer outdoor running because I am going to run Bloomsday for the first time ever this year! Bloomsday is a 12K, and rumor has it it is the largest (total runners) road race in the United States. I don’t know if that is true, but it will really test my claustrophobia limits!

Two of my besties from college, Ali and Reese, are going to make the trip to Spokane to run it with me. And by run I mean slowly jog 🙂

Reese, me, and Ali summer 2009.


pssst if you register by February 13th you will be entered to win an Apple iPad.

Today’s oats were delish: old fashioned oats, almond milk/water, 2 TBS blueberry craisins, 1 TBS pepitas and 1/2 TBS chia seeds.

Lunch was also amazing: spinach salad w/cherry craisins, goat cheese, red onion, tomato and homemade dressing. Whole wheat english muffin w/laughing cow wedge.

Snack-a-roos were a jazz apple and some lemon oregano roasted chickpeas. Mmmmm, chickpeas make me smile. See below for recipe.

And dinner….mmmm wraps. Steak, avocado, tomato, sweet onion, light sour cream all inside tortillaland flour tortillas. So content right now.

And here is the recipe that turned me into a chickpea this afternoon…

Lemon Oregano Roasted Chickpeas.


Ingredients

1 can chickpeas (garbanzo beans), rinsed & drained


1 TBS extra virgin olive oil

1 TBS lemon juice

1/2 tsp oregano

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/4 tsp cumin

salt and pepper to taste

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Rinse/drain chickpeas. In medium sized bowl combine extra virgin olive oil, lemon juice, oregano, garlic powder and cumin. Add chickpeas to bowl and stir well, coating the chickpeas. Spray jelly roll pan with cooking spray or mist with olive oil spray. Spread chickpeas on jelly roll pan. Bake for 20-25 minutes.

Enjoy! I offered some up to my co-workers during our meeting (in place of the pretzels/ritz/candy) and they just laughed at me and told me I eat too healthy. They don’t know what they’re missing!

One thought on “Weigh in Wednesday 5: I’m a chickpea.

  1. Pingback: Lemon Asparagus Pasta | Spinach and Skittles

Leave a Reply

