Babies and burlattas.

It seems everyone around me is having babies. One thing you should know about me: I love babies. Baby smell, baby chub rolls, baby laugh, baby everything. I have pattened the Leila Swoop, a certain sway/bounce thing I do with babies. I love it because I get an awesome glute/hamstring workout. Moms love it because (generally) their baby stops crying.

The hubs loves that my friends keep having babies because that means I make burlattas. And whenever I make a batch of burlattas for someone else, I may as well make a batch for us. Tomorrow my co-worker is coming back after an eight week maternity leave. So tonight I whipped these up to bring her in the morning.

A burlatta is a delicious mix of a burrito and an enchilada, and it has taken on a life of its own since I first started making them back in 2003. The original mix (shredded chicken, rice, enchilada sauce and cheese) was pretty much the only thing I could make for dinner that wouldn’t send the kids I nannied running for the hills. This was not due to my poor cooking skills, they were just really picky eaters.

Now I make all sorts of burlattas. And I try to make them healthier too. The nice thing about burlattas is that you can throw pretty much any veggie you want in there and they will be forgiving. Below is the recipe for Black Bean Burlattas, but you can sub chicken for the black beans, brown rice for white rice, add cilantro, whatever. They will still taste great.

Black Bean Burlattas

chicken version found here

Yields 12 burlattas


Nutritionals: Cal: 331, Carb: 42, Fat: 13, Pro: 14

Ingredients

1 cup dry rice (cook according to package or bulk bin directions)


3 cups shredded cheddar cheese

1 1/2 cans black beans, rinsed & drained

1 20oz can red enchilada sauce

1 small can diced green chiles

1/2 bell pepper, diced (red, yellow or orange)

1/2 sweet onion, diced

5 mushrooms, sliced

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 tsp cumin

1 TBS extra virgin olive oil

12 flour tortillas (although my favorite are Tortillaland, they do not hold up well for this recipe because they are too soft. Guerrero or Mission work better)

Directions

Cook rice according to package directions.

While rice is cooking dice your veggies.

Heat large skillet pan with olive oil. Add bell pepper and onion. Saute 1 minute.

Add garlic, cumin and mushrooms. Heat an additional 7-9 minutes, or until veggies are tender.

Heat oven to 350 degrees.

After rice has finished cooking combine rice, black beans, veggies, 2 cups shredded cheese and 1/2 can of enchilada sauce in large bowl. Spoon mixture evenly between 12 tortillas and place in glass baking dish (I used 1 9×13 and one 8×8). Cover with remaining enchilada cheese and rest of cheese.

Bake 30 minutes.

Serve with sour cream or plain greek yogurt.

10 thoughts on “Babies and burlattas.

  1. Pingback: Early to bed, early to rise. | Spinach and Skittles

  2. Pingback: Friday, Friday, gettin’ down on Friday. | Spinach and Skittles

  3. Pingback: What do you do, ooo, ooo | Spinach and Skittles

  4. Pingback: MPM: freezer love |

  5. Pingback: Happy Halloween! |

  6. Pingback: I’m loving November. |

  7. Pingback: The return of Meal Plan Monday |

  8. Pingback: Freezer meal stock up (+ giveaway) | Spinach and Skittles

Leave a Reply

