Toasty fire, toasty kale, toasty me.

Winter is my least favorite season. I hate to be cold. Like, really, really, really hate to be cold.

Then we moved to San Diego for a (very) brief period of time and I realized I hate living without seasons more than I hate being cold.

While fires help,

only one thing can warm my winter heart: Gonzaga basketball.

On Wednesday the hubs texted me a picture of tickets for tonight’s game. My response? Ummm, so I take this to mean we are going to the game? His boss has season tickets* (lucky!!) and when he cannot attend he will often give Timmah his tickets. Yay!

*We want to get season tickets, but we have to pay $100 just to get on the alumni waiting list…which is at least a 10 year wait. Uggh! I realize this is a small price to pay for my Zags, but really, paying to get on a waiting list? Come on!

Both the hubs and I are alumni (he graduated from the law school in 2007, and I graduated with a B.A. in 2005), so going to games brings a warm, fuzzy feeling to our hearts.

ooooo Oh Oh Oh Oh ooooo Oh Oh Oh

Where’s Waldo? Where’s Mark Few!?!

Did you spot him? Hilarious.

6th row, not too shabby.

One perk to seats on the opposite side of the student section? You can sit during the game. Although I did have a few sentimental moments, wishing I were on the other side.

Upon returning home the hubs grilled steak and I prepped/cooked some kale chips.

When I tried the toasted sesame hummus last night I knew I needed to make some of my own. So when I saw these at Costco today, (yeah, that would be two Costco trips in 9 days), I decided I had to purchase them.

Mmmm hmmmm.

Thus inspiring Toasted Sesame Parmesan Kale Chips. The last time I made kale chips the hubs wasn’t too impressed, so I tweaked Kath’s recipe and I think he is a convert.

Ingredients

1 bunch kale chips, washed/dried/leafs removed

2 TBS toasted sesame seeds

2 TBS shredded parmesan cheese

1/4 tsp cumin

1/4 tsp sea salt

olive oil spray (or 1 TBS extra virgin olive oil)

cooking spray, or more olive oil spray for baking dish

Directions

Heat oven to 375 degrees. Spray two 9×13 dishes with cooking spray or spray olive oil.

 Wash/dry kale and pull kale “leafs” off.

Spray kale with olive oil (or drizzle olive oil on leafs), using hands to ensure oil lightly coats all kale.

Sprinkle cumin, sea salt, parmesan cheese and sesame seeds on kale, mix into the whole bunch with hands. Divide between two glass dishes.

Bake for 18 minutes.

Paired with grilled steak and horseradish sauce (sour cream, lemon juice and horseradish),

and rosemary olive oil bread (with Provencal Herb Olive Oil for dipping),

make this a darn tasty meal (DTM…coining that, now).

Yum and yum.

Leave a Reply

