Weigh in Wednesday 3: looser, not a loser.

I was fully prepared not to lose this week. I’m not really sure why. I’ve been feeling a tad sluggish and am trying to pinpoint the root cause. I think it may be sleep related. (Those extra 9 minutes after hitting snooze don’t actually count as extra sleep either, shucks).

In an effort to see improvements beyond the scale this week I decided I needed to find my trusty measuring tape.

Sometimes you don’t lose one week, even if you do “everything right.” You know: eat the desired amount of calories each day, get enough exercise in, create the calorie deficit needed to lose the desired poundage for the week.

And guess what? It is OK. Our bodies fluctuate every day, and even if you weigh at the same time you did the week before it doesn’t necessarily mean you will get the whole story. I needed to give myself this little pep talk this morning because while I know this to be true, I still put a lot of value on the number on the scale.

But, in an effort to be consistant:

Start weight: +21

Goal weight: -21

Last week: -7

This week: -6

Goal for next week: -7 (rather than -8, which was my original goal)

So some non weight-related victories?

My pants are loose! And not the I’ve-worn-them-a-few-times-and-they-need-to-be-washed loose. Actual out-of-the-clean-laundry loose. Very exciting.

And my stomach has gone down an inch since I last measured. I actually have no reference for when that was, I just know it was after Halloween sometime. But I took out my favorite belt from high school and I am 2 3/4 inches from it fitting on the same notch it fit in back then.

Pretty exciting stuff, and just the motivation I need to get me out of my initial slump this morning.

Plus I saw this on the shelf at the library, and it reminded me to smile because I am working to improve myself šŸ™‚

Thanks Caitlin, you rock!

Getting to the gym this morning was no easy task. It did in fact snow last night, and between 3 and 4 inches were on the ground at 5:30 when I left. I didn’t get on a (dread)treadmill until 6 (it usually takes 15 minutes to get there/throw crap in a locker/get on a machine). So I logged another 20 minutes of walking/running and 30 on the Adaptive Motion Trainer. I cut the work out short to ensure I would get to work on time.

I also realized I left my cell phone at home and my wonderful hubs brought it to me šŸ™‚ I hate driving in poor weather without my cell.

Brekkie was unintentionally served cold. It took a half hour to get to work from the gym (normally 11 minutes), so by the time I got all my computers on and was ready to rock-n-roll my first class was too. My poor hot oatmeal sat neglected in my office.

Today I had a mix of oats, almond milk/water, chia seeds, brown sugga and peanut butta. And of course coffee/raw sugar/ff half&half.

Lunch was blah-d-blah leftover ravioli/arrabbiata sauce and a bland fuji.

I was browsing the newspaper today and noticed this article.

And these coupons were tucked inside.

I don’t know about you, but the pizza sounds much tastier to me.

Leave a Reply

