Cheesy Taco Casserole

I really hate being lactose intolerant, because I really love cheese.

Last night I left Libb some post-it notes in The Best of Cooking Light Everyday Favorites cook book. I’ve made this recipe as is before, but it calls for fat-free cheese and that pretty much tastes like rubber. So I wrote comments about everything, subbing what we had in the fridge for what the recipe called for. Libb made more modifications than I wrote, but I’m glad he did because it turned out really tasty.

Not the healthiest, but not too bad either.

*Adapted from this recipe.

Makes 4 servings

Nutritionals: Cal: 459, Carb: 43, Fat: 22, Pro: 22

Ingredients

1  cup  shredded pepperjack cheese
1  cup  chopped tomato
1  cup low-fat cottage cheese
1/3  cup  diced sweet onion
2  tsp  chili powder
2  garlic cloves, minced
6 flour tortillas (we used Tortillaland bake yourself tortillas)

Cooking spray
1  cup  taco sauce
1/3  cup  shredded cheddar cheese

Directions

Pre-heat oven to 375

Combine first 6 ingredients in a medium bowl.

Arrange 2 tortillas in bottom of a baking dish coated with cooking spray. I had to tear the tortillas so they would fit, like so.

Spread 1/3 taco sauce over tortillas and top with half the cheese mixture.

Repeat procedure with 2 tortillas, 1/3 taco sauce and remaining cheese mixture

Top with remaining tortillas and rest of taco sauce. Sprinkle cheddar cheese on top.

Bake at 375° for 20 minutes or until cheese melts.

Top with avocado, fage (or sour cream) and cilantro.

I have no idea why I despised avocados for the first 22 years of my life. Oh how I missed out!

I’m glad there are 4 servings…someone can’t wait for the next leftovers night.

Leave a Reply

