Cherry pie please.

No, I’m not eating cherry pie for breakfast (although I totally could).

I am drinking some coffee on this deliciously sunny morning.

The snow is much prettier in sunshine.

And some nanner soft serve. Wow, I will definitely be making this again, regardless of the hour.

But on to what you really came for, the cherry pie. I normally do not eat pie, and generally stay away from cherry pie due to the messiness factor. I was a barista in a fabulous bakery that had cherry pie on on the menu daily. It was so difficult to get the pie out of the pan that I wrote cherry pie off for good.

But the hubs loves cherry pie. His sister made a lovely pie for Christmas dinner, but it was placed on our “out door fridge” to cool and we didn’t know it was going to rain that night…the next morning it was cherry soup. The hubs was sad, so I promised him I would make him pie, despite my reservations.

Thanks to Gayle, my mother-in-law (MIL), I was able to transform these ingredients into the perfect pie.

8 servings (Nutritionals: Cal: 410, Carb: 73.8, Fat: 13.5, Pro: 2.75)

Ingredients

2 cans Oregon tart pie cherries* (use liquid from first, drain second can)

1 ½ cup sugar    

3 TBS minute tapioca

¼ tsp almond flavoring

1 TBS butter

2 Pie Crusts (make your own, or purchase like I did)

splash of milk or half & half

Decorator or granulated sugar (for sprinkling)

 Directions

In large bowl combine 2 cans cherries*, sugar, tapioca and almond flavoring.  Let sit for 20-30 minutes, stirring occasionally. 

Put bottom layer of pie crust in pie pan and pour in cherry mixture. 

Cut butter into little pieces, dot on top of cherries. 

Roll out top pie crust and cut slits. Or make a pretty little heart like I did.

Moisten edge of bottom pie crust with a little water and your finger.  Place top crust on and push edges all around pie gently with your finger to glue them together.  Flute edge with finger or use tines of a fork around edge. 

Lightly moisten top crust with milk or half & half and sprinkle lightly with sugar.  Take small pieces of foil and cover edges of the pie. 

Bake at 375 degrees for 30 minutes and remove foil. 

Continue cooking for 15 more minutes. 

Cool (takes a few hours).

And enjoy.

Now the hubs needs to take this away so I don’t eat the rest.

Leave a Reply

