Weigh-in Wednesday

While at the gym yesterday I was reading a borrowed issue of Shape magazine. I love that my new gym has lots of magazine areas to “take-one, leave-one.” My old gym dumped used magazines in order to make it look “clean”, what a waste! Recycle people!

In two different articles Shape recommended weighing yourself every day and weighing yourself once a week for optimal weight loss success. Confusing, no? The first article stated that weighing yourself every day helped you stay focused and kept you on track with your weight loss. The second stated that weighing every day would lead you to obsess (duh!) and that you should instead weigh yourself once a week to keep yourself on track. Both are good ways to keep yourself in the know, or you could completely abandon the scale and go by the way your clothes fit. But, if you are like me, you don’t like the way your clothes fit and you have a closet full of clothes that fit you 2 years ago and you want to get back into them…

So I weigh once a week, on Wednesday. I used to do Friday, in anticipation of the weekend and being able to “cheat.” Then I switched to Monday, thinking it would help me avoid the cheat. But, really, it didn’t and it lead to a depressing number after the “cheating.” So I switched to smack-dab-middle-of-the-week Wednesday.

I’ve said it before, I’m not on a diet anymore, but I am trying to be more conscious of what I put into my body. This means less processed food and more homemade meals. Less coffee, and more water.

I am hydrating as I dehydrate this morning…

I also log all my M-F meals on myfitnesspal. Sometimes I log weekend meals, sometimes I don’t. Balance is key. I don’t obsessively measure either. But I like myfitnesspal because it has a very large user generated database and it has an iphone app. I can also log my cardio and strength workouts. The log works on net calories, much like calorieking.com, so the more you work out, the more you can eat.

I like that, because I like to eat. And I need balance in my life.

So as stated before, I let the gain get to twenty-one pounds.

start weight: +21

goal: -21

Simple enough, right?

The +21 was recorded mid-October. Since then I’ve lost 6 pounds, whoo hoo! I stepped on the scale this morning, fully expecting to have gained some extra padding over the holiday season and was shocked to see I lost one pound and am now at my “scary number.” The scary number is the number I swore I would never see again…and then I surpassed it by 6 pounds. Woops.

So…

Start weight: +21

Goal: -21

Current: -6

Left to lose: 15

Goal for next week: -7 (14 left to lose)

Now I’m watching the snow fall (the weather man changed his tune and it has been snowing all day).

(see our 2nd “fridge”?)

No basketball for you Timmy. Guess we’ll have to settle by watching the Zags tonight!

Expecting 7-12 inches between now and 4 p.m. Joy.

Leave a Reply

