’twas the day after Christmas

And all through the house people were exhausted…

Yesterday was a tad busy. The tree was exploding.

Santa had to deliver his presents next to the fireplace.

Rilo took residence in front of the fireplace (to keep the presents company).

While opening presents we nibbled on Butterbraids…

I purchased two of these for a school fundraiser. I’m a firm believer that you should purchase one, and only one, item from the first student who asks you to buy something for a fundraiser. But Butterbraids are too good, so I bought apple cinnamon and blueberry cream cheese. Mmmmm, nothing healthy about these.

I also whipped up a batch of Caitlin’s cornbread quiche

http://www.healthytippingpoint.com/quiche-cornbread

Yum. I added bacon for my bacon-loving husband. And I will definitely be making this again, I foresee adding mushrooms, onions, bell peppers and/or spinach in the future.

Rilo and Bachelor napped and relaxed while the humans prepared dinner for 16.

While the meal was potluck style, there was still a lot of prep work to do at our house. We provided the meat (pork loin and turkey), mashed taters, green beans, an app of jalepeno artichoke dip/chips/bread and assorted beverages. The husband’s family members brought 2 loafs of bread, 3 pies, caesar salad and a veggie platter.

First prep: Rosemary Grilled Pork Loin (from The Barbeque! Bible by Steven Raichlen. His website is here: http://www.barbecuebible.com/)

Oh how I love garlic and rosemary.

First mix a head of garlic, 1 bunch rosemary (or 5 like we did), 1 TBS sea salt, 1 TBS black pepper & 2 TBS olive oil in a small food processor or magic bullet.

The hubs cut the pork loin in half length wise, and then cut a “mouth” in the center of the bottom half.

And then fed him the rosemary garlic concoction.

Oooo look at that chunk o’ garlic that didn’t get processed. Nom.

Then he folded the loin back up and tied with butcher’s string.

Ready to go.

I neglected to take pictures during the cooking phase, and the finished product. But the hubs used the indirect grilling method and grilled until the internal temperature reached 160 degrees. Afterward he tented the pork loin with aluminum foil until it was ready to be cut/eaten.

And I completely missed all photo opportunities of the turkey. But we roasted a 11.95 pound turkey according to this recipe:

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/tyler-florence/maple-roasted-turkey-with-sage-smoked-bacon-and-cornbread-stuffing-recipe2/index.html

I don’t think anyone ate the stuffing, but man the meat was tasty.

I neglected all of these photo ops because I was preoccupied with my cute little niece.

I was quite full after eating dinner, and had to pass on the pie.

(There is meat hiding under the TWO slices of buttered bread, I promise. Calories don’t count on Christmas, right?)

I hope everyone enjoyed…

even if their meal was an hour late. Timing for 16 is a tad difficult 😉

Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

