have your cake, and eat it too.

Do you like German Sweet Chocolate Cake? I do. But you won’t find me putting any of that gooey coconut frosting on it. I’ll have a slice of the real thing, thank you very much.

Every year we have my Grandma Crider’s German Sweet Chocolate Cake for my dad’s birthday. His birthday is the 22nd, but my parents arrived at our house today, so we celebrated a few days late. This is one tradition that has been happening every year since my dad was a kid.

Yes please.

*Recipe to follow

Another tradition is homemade pizza. This year I tried out a new dough recipe, courtesy of my good friend Kelly. Yum, this dough was perfect! Thanks Kelly!

I started the dough at 2:30ish, using my trusty kitchenaid. I let it rise for a few hours while I started making cornbread for tomorrow…during which I was interrupted to find out Christmas Mass was not at 5, and instead was at 4.

Enter live-in-basement brother. Jake went to work browning the Italian sausage, slicing bell peppers, tomatoes, onions and other toppings as the rest of the fam headed over to mass.

Upon our return, Jake and I assembled the pizzas.

Pizza #1:

First half: pepperoni, onion, bell pepper, jalapeno, pineapple

Second half: Italian sausage, pepperoni, bell pepper, mushroom, onion, tomato

Pizza #2:

Roasted garlic, pepperoni, mushroom, bell pepper, onion, tomato

Pizza #3

Italian sausage, pepperoni, bell pepper, onion, mushroom, tomato and jalapeno

Please don’t drool on your keyboard, it might short out.

Ahhh high quality night time photos…

I had two slices of heaven.

Jake had a slight issue with the jalapenos+red peppers (but at least he had a bib).

Bachelor wanted a slice, but he was denied.

Then we moved on to cake. Oh how I love this once a year dessert.

Dad goes in for the first attempt…

No such luck.

Round two…

Sorry Dad, Jake got re-lighting candles. We had to soak them in water for 5 minutes to fully extinguish per package directions.

Post cake consumption, we stumbled into the living room for the tradition of opening one gift on Christmas Eve.

Jake got generic fruit snacks (and yes, generic are WAY better than brand name).

And Rilo and Rikka got the hubs and me some very tasty oils

L to R: Procencal herb olive oil, Pepperocini olive oil, white truffle oil & Morocco grapeseed oil.

Leave a Reply

