want some sabi? tuna salad

So the last minute Christmas shopping didn’t go as planned. I have this little wallet thing that holds my credit cards and license. I left that in the coat I wore yesterday…luckily I had cash in my wallet, but I had to run home before I went anywhere else. Thus resulting in 45 minutes wasted. However, two good things happened: I finally got my new glasses after 3 attempts since October & I managed to make it to the gym.

While at the gym I managed to log 20 minutes on the treadmill. This might not seem like much to some, but to me it is monumental. I have tried the couch to 5k program more times than I can count. So 20 minutes…wow. Then I hit up this machine that is a cross between an elliptical and a treadclimber. I don’t know what it is called, but man is it a great work out. As I huffed and puffed (and watched FRIENDS) I starting dreaming about wasabi. Nom. Love it. Knowing I wasn’t going to hit up a sushi joint all sweaty, I decided to whip up a batch of want some sabi? tuna salad. I haven’t had this in ages, and it really hit the spot.

Wasabi + canned tuna? Yes, it works.

(Nutritionals for full recipe: Cal-403, Fat-17, Carb-25, Pro-41)

Here is what you’ll need for two servings:

1 thick slice sweet onion (Walla Walla if you live in an area that sells them), diced

1 roma tomato, diced

1 stalk celery, diced

1/4 bell pepper, diced

1/4 avocado, diced

2 laughing cow light wedges, original flavor

1 can tuna (I prefer the non-good-for-you kind…but the hubs buys albacore*, so that is what I used)

1 TBS wasabi paste (you can sub horseradish if you don’t have wasabi paste on hand)

Dice all your veggies and fruits (except the avocado) and throw them into a mixing bowl.

You will have about a cup of diced veggies.

Reserve your avocado for later.

Then throw the drained can of tuna in with the veggies, along with the two laughing cow wedges. Mix well.

(*I had to toss 3 cans of expired tuna before I found one that was within the acceptable date range. The cans expired in 2007, which means we bought them in Spokane, moved them to San Diego, moved them back to Spokane and let them sit in a storage unit, moved them into an apartment and finally into our house in 2010. Gross).

I searched my fridge high and low and could only find one laughing cow wedge. Sigh. So I subbed the second one for some low fat cream cheese. Not as good, but it will do in a pinch.

However, I did find these delicious pickles hiding in the back. Perfect side to my salad.

After all ingredients are mashed-up, add a dollop of wasabi paste.

Nom.

Blend until you can’t see neon green anymore. This makes two servings…so I reserved half for tomorrow and topped today’s half with the avocado. Served with 4 Milton’s Multigrain Crackers and two sliced pickles.

And of course a mid-afternoon mocktail consisting of seltzer and key lime juice.

If you haven’t tried Nellie & Joe’s Key West Lime Juice you really should. So tasty.

Leave a Reply

