flipping my flapjacks

While winter break has been lovely, I find myself getting increasingly anxious for Christmas. This will be my first year hosting, and I’m finding it nearly impossible to focus long enough on one task to complete. Rilo has been sniffing and pawing at the gifts under the tree and Rikka has been wondering around whining incessantly. I think they know somethings up.

Nothing a little coffee can’t fix.

coffee

*sidenote: The Today Show is on in the background and I just heard the sentence, “Everyone loves something bedazzled.” And she was serious. Sigh.

While coffee gets my mind in the zone, I still have a lot of errands to run today, including last minute Christmas shopping, grabbing some forgotten ingredients and hitting the gym to work off last nights cookies….or to prep for today’s consumption?

Enter Kodiak Cakes

Pancakes don’t get much easier than this. 1:1 ratio of mix to water. I’ve been reading about Kodiak Cakes and their amazingness for quite a while over on katheats.com so when I saw them at Safeway this week I decided I needed to give them a try.

I pulled out my trusty OXO measuring cup…

Sadly, you can no longer tell which cup is what size.

But, if you have a brother that lives in your basement he can surprise you by etching the size into the bottom of the cup.

Good to go.

So I mixed her up and dropped her in the pan according to package directions. They were a tad runny though…I attempted to remedy the runny pancake mess, but it didn’t work out as well as I planned.

And I don’t have mad flipping skills.

But I do have tasty toppings.

I topped my pancakes with creamy peanut butter, some chia seeds and this tasty fig galaxy fruit spread that I found at TJ Maxx a few weeks back.

Divine.

It is a much heartier dish than I would normally eat for brekkie, but it is 10:44 a.m. and I need staying power!

Leave a Reply

